There are two official outrigger canoe racing zones in Queensland: NQ Zone and SQ Zone, which have a grand prix regatta circuit. These regattas are held under the conditions and rules laid down by the sports national governing body, Australian Outrigger Canoe Racing Association (AOCRA).

Regattas during the year include:

Grand Prix Regattas for OC6, OC1’s and OC2’s – divisions include Opens (paddler of any age), Masters (Women and Men 40yrs +), Senior Masters (Women and Men 50yrs +), Golden Masters (Women and men 60 yrs +) and there is a Mixed Open Division as well as events for Juniors.

The major outrigging events outside the AOCRA circuit are the Hamilton Island Cup and Gold Coast Cup.

Please note: The Port Douglas regatta is now on the 18th:


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

© 2016 Cairns Beaches Outriggers Club